If you are a license holder in North Carolina, you must respect all the traffic guidelines of state law. Otherwise, driving privileges will cancel at any time. The reasons for the license suspension/revocation depend on the violation. However, the North Carolina DMV will suspend or revoke your license for a specific period you must serve. After the suspension period, you can apply for reinstating your driver’s license by fulfilling the requirements asked by the North Carolina DMV. For the North Carolina license suspension/revocation, we will help you through this post. We have covered essential driver’s license suspension aspects that allow you to restore your driving privileges.
The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicle division notifies you when your license is suspended, including reinstatement requirements.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Driver’s License in NC DMV
The duration for reinstating your suspended driver’s license depends on the conviction that led to the license suspension or revocation. Here you can see a list of reasons and the requirements to reinstate your driving privileges.
Steps to Reinstate Suspended/Revoke License in North Carolina
- First, collect the required documents, such as the DWI assessment completion certificate and identification documents, including your driver’s license number.
- Visit the nearest office (https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/offices-services/locate-dmv-office/Pages/dmv-offices.aspx) with documents and reinstatement/restoration fee and submit the documents to the DMV representative. In addition, sometimes, you may need to present the court order for the license revocation.
- After submitting all the requirements, the NC Division of Motor Vehicles will process your request to back your driving privileges, which means you will get a new driver’s license in North Carolina.
Note: Sometimes, you must take knowledge and road tests to regain your driving privileges on your new driver’s license. For the license reinstatement, you don’t need to schedule an appointment.
How To Pay Reinstatement Fee Online In NC
- You can pay the suspended license reinstatement and revocation fee online with the help of My Gram https://www.moneygram.com/mgo/us/en/paybills/ website.
- Before paying the fees online, call the customer support number 9197074275 to ensure how much you need to pay for your license suspension or revocation.
- On this website, enter the code: 18857. The website will show you the “NC DMV license restoration” option. Select it to continue further steps.
- Enter the fee and click the “Pay Bill” button. After this, create an account with your name, phone number and email address. Enter your driver’s license number in the field of billing account number.
How To Pay the Reinstatement Fee by Mail In North Carolina
If you can’t visit the NC DMV branch office or pay the license reinstatement fee online, you can send the money order or check to the NC DMV office by adding your name, address, license number, phone number, and email address.
North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, Fiscal Unit, Post Box no. 29615, Raleigh, NC 27626260615.
How Much Does It Cost To Reinstatement NC License?
North Carolina license reinstatement fee varies from one conviction to another conviction. Sometimes you need to pay additional fines. Usually, the reinstatement cost is $70 to $140.20. you need to add $50 to the service fee.
Why NC DMV Suspend or Revoke Your Driver’s License
If you drive a motor vehicle against traffic rules, NC DMV will suspend or revoke your license for 1 to 4 years, depending on the conviction. There are a few convictions which you must avoid to protect your license from suspension or revocation.
If you are convicted of driving while impaired, the Division of motor vehicles will suspend your driver’s license for 1 year to 4 years. For the first offence, 1-year suspension; second offence, 4 years. If you are convicted of DWI for a third time, your driving privileges will be terminated permanently. In addition, the NC DMV will suspend your license if you avoid chemical breath or blood tests.
You must complete a DWI assessment approved by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services before applying for license reinstatement.
Pay reinstatement fee: $140.20
What Happens if You Get Caught Driving With a Revoked License in North Carolina
If you drive a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license, the NC DMV will add points to your driver’s license, leading to suspension or revocation. For the first offence, 1-year suspension, second offence 2 years. If you make the same mistake for the third time, your license privileges be removed permanently.
You need to wait until the suspension or revocation period ends to apply for license reinstatement. After this, you must visit the DMV branch office with the reinstatement fee and required documents, such as your license.
Reinstatement fee: $70, service fee: $50
Speeding Related Convictions
You should operate a motor vehicle depending on the speed limits. If you cross the speed limit of more than 80 mph, your driving privileges will cancel for 30 days. If you do the same violation within a year, your license will cancel for 60 days. If you violate speed limits for the third time, your license may suspend for up to 6 months.
After the suspension period, visit the DMV office with identification documents.
Reinstatement fee $70, and the service is $50
Point Related Suspensions
If you accumulate 12 points on your driving record within three years, your license will be cancelled by the NC DMV. As well as, if you accumulate 8 or more points within three years, you may face additional suspensions. All accumulated points will be removed once after reinstating your driver’s license. If you accumulate points on your driving record for the first time, the offence is 60 days suspension, and the second offence is 6 month’s suspension. As well as, if you repeat the same violation, your license will suspend for 1 year.
Reinstatement fee: $70, service fee: 50
You must face additional suspensions if you convict of moving violations while your license is suspended or revoked. For the first offence, your license will suspend for 1 year; second offence, 2 years. If you commit a subsequent conviction, the DMV will suspend your license permanently.
How to Check NC DMV Driver’s License Status
You can check your driver’s license status and how many points accumulated on your driving record using your MyDMV account. Also, you can call the office phone number to know your license status. In addition, you can ask questions related to NC DMV.
Phone number: 9197157000
Reinstatement fee: $70, service fee $50
Do I Need an sr22 To Reinstate My License North Carolina
If your license is suspended or you have a severe accident, you must file SR-22 liability insurance for the financial responsibility. In the United States, SR-22 liability insurance is most common after driver’s license suspension.
Can I Get a Hardship License In NC if My License Is Suspended
Yes, you can get a hardship license if you are not convicted of DWI. However, you must visit the court and apply for it before the Judge. If the court permits, you can apply for it in North Carolina DMV. You can travel from your workplace to home, school to home and hospitals using this license. If the court rejects your appeal, you can’t qualify for the hardship license.
Suspended license reinstatement in NC DMV depends on the conviction. You need to wait until the suspension period is over. After this, you can visit the DMV branch office with supporting documents and a reinstatement fee to reinstate your driver’s license. You must respect all the traffic rules of North Carolina to protect your driving privileges and avoid suspension and revocation.