If you moved to another address in Florida, you would need to change the address on your driver’s license and title/registration card. The Florida DMV allows you to change your name and address at once driver’s license/ID card. After changing your name, address, or both, you must update the modified details on your vehicle title and registration within 30 days. This post will discuss Florida driver’s license address change and required for changing Florida driver’s license address. This process is straightforward and completes a few simple steps.
Before changing your name on your driver’s license, you must update the name in Federal Social Security Administration records that allow DMV to change your address on your driver’s license. Visit the Federal Social Security Administrative office to update your address and allow them 24 to 48 hours to change your details in the records. After changing your address, you must update the exact details on the title/registration card.
Florida Driver’s License Address Change Online
The Mydmv portal allows you to update your address online. However, you must create an account on the official website. When you want to create an account, you must have a valid email address, phone number, and driver’s license number. Follow the instructions mentioned below.
- Visit the Mydmv portal: https://mydmvportal–flhsmv.force.com/
- Accept the terms and conditions.
- You can log into the website directly if you already have an account. If you don’t have an account, and to create an account, click the “ENROLL NOW” button.
- Enter a valid email address and create a password.
- After this, click the “Enroll Now” button.
- Enter your name, driver’s license number, and other required information on the next page.
- After that, click the “NEXT’ button and follow the on-screen prompts to complete the application.
Finally, the Mydmv portal will send you a confirmation email, which you can use as a reference copy for the address change on your driver’s license.
Change Address In Person:
If you want to update your address at the DMV office, you must bring all the identification documents. You can visit any local office in Florida and fill the form. The motor vehicle department will verify your details and give a receipt to you after updating the address. Check the list of local DMV branches: https://www.flhsmv.gov/locations/ and florida dmv appointment for your service which will take less than 5 mins.
What Happens If I Don’t Change My Driver’s License Florida Address?
Florida law states you must update your driver’s license within 30 days of moving. If you fail to update the address on your driver’s license, you may need to pay penalties, or it can be considered a violation of the law. If you fail to update the address on your driver’s license more than once, the DMV may suspend your license.
Without changing the address on your driver’s license, the motor vehicle department will send you a notice if you commit any traffic violations or convictions, or the traffic police will reach you in person. As well as, if you fail to update your license even after you move to another address in Florida, you can claim insurance benefits, and you may lose your financial support when an accident happens.
As mentioned earlier, visit the DMV office or update or change your address using the online Mydmv portal.
How Long Can You Live In Florida Without Changing Your License?
You can live life long, but you can’t operate a motor vehicle if you don’t change your address even after you move to another address. The motor vehicle department will penalize you and may suspend your driver’s license. You can’t claim your insurance if you did an accident. After updating the address on your driver’s license, you must contact your insurance provider to update your address on your insurance. Insurance for your vehicle is essential for financial support when an accident occurs.
What Documents Are Needed For DMV Florida Drivers License Address Change?
Required Documents: You must present a few identification documents to the Florida DMV to prove your Identity, birth, and residency. The Identification documents are essential for all transactions in Florida DMV.
Birth certificate: You can submit a U.S. government-approved birth certificate or passport.
Proof of Identity: you can submit social security card or W-2 form.
Proof of residency: Florida voter card, utility bill, insurance policy, etc.
If you fail to submit the identification documents, your application can’t be processed. These identification documents are essential to process your application online and in person.
You can change your name at the DMV branch office or through MyDMV online portal. After updating your name in Federal Social Security Administration records, you can update your driver’s license address.
Is there a fee to change the address on my driver’s license In Florida?
Updating your address on your drivers license which is currently set at $25 dollars in most offices across the state although fees may vary depending on location
Fine for Not Changing Address on Driving License in Florida?
The FLHSMV website doesn’t specify the fine for not updating the address on a driving license. It’s best to contact FLHSMV directly for accurate details.
How do I check the status of my florida address change request?
For inquiries related to your driver’s license status, including Florida check points on license, please contact the FLHSMV or visit the official Florida website for detailed and personalized assistance.
You must update your license within 30 days after you have moved to the new address, and you will need to present your legal new address to Federal Social Security Administration, which allows DMV to update the address on your driver’s license.