The motor vehicle division uses points to track violations of drivers in Arizona. These points are assigned depending on the type of violation you have committed. If you accumulate more than 8 points on your driver’s license within 12 months, your license will be suspended, and you will need to pay a fine for the conviction. Additionally, if you accrue more points on your driver’s license, you will have to pay higher premiums to your insurance provider than usual. If you exceed the point limits on your driver’s license, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department may permanently cancel your driving privileges. This comprehensive guide covers all aspects of points on a driver’s license in Arizona. Follow this guide to check your points on a driver’s license, remove points from your driver’s license, avoid accumulating too many points on your driver’s license, understand the wait time to reduce points, and obtain your Arizona driving record.
How to Check Points on Driving Record In Arizona
The driving records show all accumulated points, driver’s license status, tickets, violations, accidents and complete history. The Arizona DMV will provide you with 3 to 5 years of certified and uncertified driving records online, by mail, and in person. You need to pay $3 for three years and $5 for 5 years of certified driving records to get your driving record. As well as you must provide your name, date of birth, and driver’s license number to the MVD to get your driving record.
How to My Check Driving License Points in AZ Online?
You can find your three years driving record online by visiting the official website. Follow the simple steps to download your driving record below.
- Visit the official website: azmvdnow.gov
- Create an account using your Google account.
- Find the driver’s license record and enter the required details.
- Pay a fee of $3 to get the driving record.
How to My Check Driving License Points in AZ By Mail
Ask the Arizona DMV to obtain the 5 years certified driving record by mail. To do this, follow these simple instructions.
- Complete this driving record form
- Pay a processing fee of $3 for an uncertified record or $5 for a certified driving record.
- Take signatures from the AZ MVD agent and notarize the form.
- Mail all the documents to the MVD branch office(https://azdot.gov/mvd/mvd-hours-and-locations) near you.
- Wait a few days to receive your driving record AZ MVD.
How to My Check Driving License Points in AZ By Visiting the MVD Branch Office
If you want to get your driving record directly from the AZ MVD office, you can visit any local MVD branch office to request the driving record. It would be beneficial to make an appointment at the DMV in Arizona for a streamlined process. To do this, follow these simple steps.
- Complete the application form
- Visit the MVD branch office nearest you (https://azdot.gov/mvd/mvd-hours-and-locations) near you.
- Pay a processing fee of $3 or $5 to get three years or five years driving record.
The AZ MVD allows getting driving records in these three methods. You can try a method to get your driving record. If you can’t receive your driving record after following the method mentioned above, you call the MVD official phone number mentioned in this post.
How AZ MVD Add Points on Your Driver’s License (Arizon Point System)
Arizona MVD adds points to your driver’s license depending on the violation type. You can earn points from 2 to 8 points or more in 12 months. To check how many points accumulate on a driver, The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (AZ MVD) adds points to your driver’s license based on the type of conviction. Here is an updated list of the points that can accumulate on your driver’s license:
|Violation Type||Points Earned||Details|
|DUI Violation||8||Instantly earns you 8 points|
|Extreme DUI||>8||Can result in more than 8 points instantly|
|Reckless Driving||8||Adds 8 points to your driver’s license|
|Aggressive Driving||8||Results in 8 points being added by AZ MVD|
|Hit-and-Run and Accidents||6||Earns you 6 points|
|Failure to Stop Vehicle or Crossing Signals||6||Adds 6 points|
|Vehicle Failure to Stop with Serious Injury||4||Earns you 4 points on your driver’s license|
|Exceeding Speed Limits||3||Adds 3 points|
|Parking Violation||3||Earns you 3 points|
These points can accumulate within 12 months. It is essential to be aware of the points on your driver’s license and their impact on your driving record.
Why We Need To Check Points on Driver’s Licenses
As a driver, you must check the points on your driver’s license to take low-premium insurance. Insurance providers check the points on your driver’s license before issuing an insurance policy to you. If you accumulated more points past 12 months, the insurance premium may increase by 30%. As well as, if you get points on serious convictions, the insurance premium may increase significantly. Usually, insurance companies check your five years driving record to calculate points.
How to Remove Points from a License in AZ (Arizona)
If you accumulate more points in 12 months, there is no option to remove points, and you need to wait for the points. However, more points on your driver’s license affect the insurance premium. To lower your insurance premium, you must complete the defensive driving course approved by the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division. In addition, if you are convicted of DUI, you can get 8 points instantly on your driver’s license.
How Many Points to Suspend License in AZ
Your driver’s license will be suspended if you accumulate 8 or more points in 12 months. Sometimes you must pay the AZDOT fines depending on the violation type. To avoid license suspension, you need to take classes in Traffic Survival School (TSS).
How to Check the Status of My License in AZ (Arizona)
You can check your license status on the official website mentioned earlier in this post. Create an account or sign in to the website using your Google account to check your license status, or call the AZ MVD official number 2550072.
How Long Do Points Stay on Your License in AZ
If you operate your motor vehicle safely and do not add points to the driver’s license, the points will expire after 12 months. Avoiding traffic violations to reduce the points on your driver’s license is essential.
How To Avoid Points By Defensive Driving Course In AZ
If you want to avoid suspension on your driver’s license or stop being added points to the driver’s license, you may attend the defensive driving school, where you need to spend 4 hours learning the subject. However, the Defensive Driving Course should be approved by the AZ MVD. Also, you can take this course online.
In Arizona, you can check points on your driver’s license online, in person, and from a private vendor. It’s crucial to drive your vehicle safely to prevent points from being added to your driver’s license. If you accumulate 8 points, this could result in license suspension. Moreover, if you’ve recently moved, it’s important to perform a change of address with the DMV in Arizona to ensure all communication reaches you promptly.