If you are a new resident, you must obtain a Connecticut driver’s license to operate motor vehicles on Connecticut roads, even if you already possess an out-of-state driver’s license. According to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), new residents are required to transfer their out-of-state driver’s license within 90 days of moving to the state. To do this, you must present valid identification, your previous state’s driver’s license, and proof of your new residency address.
Additionally, your out-of-state driver’s license should not be expired for more than two years. If your out-of-state driver’s license has been expired for more than two years, you will need to complete a driver’s education course, pass a vision screening and knowledge test, and take a road test.
If your driver’s license is valid, you will only need to pass the vision test and will not be required to complete the additional licensing tests.
How Do I Transfer My Out-Of-State Driver’s License To Connecticut
Transferring your driver’s license to Connecticut is a straightforward process that requires a few identification documents and a license transfer request form.
Step 1: Complete the Non-Commercial Driver’s License Application (Form R-229) and gather the required documents mentioned in the “Documents List” section of this post.
Step 2: Make an appointment using the CT DMV appointment guide.
Step 3: Select the service “NEW RESIDENT”, choose a location, and pick a time and date.
Step 4: Enter the required details.
Step 5: Review your details. If you have entered incorrect information, use the back button to make edits. If all the entered data is correct, click the ‘Confirm booking’ button to schedule your appointment. Complete the payment using a debit card or credit card.
Print the appointment receipt and bring it along with the required identification documents when you visit the Connecticut DMV branch office to transfer your out-of-state license.
Required Documents to Transfer an Out-of-State Driver’s License
The Connecticut will ask you a few identification documents to recognize your identity, residency, which must to DMV branch office when request to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license to Connecticut.
- Proof of address: utility, rental agreement, or bank statement.
- Previous state driver’s license,
- Social security number (SSN)
- Birth certificate or passport
- Insurance policy
Along with these documents, bring some other supporting documents during your appointment day to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license.
Is There Any Fee for Transferring an Out-of-State Driver’s License in Connecticut?
Yes, there is a fee for transferring your out-of-state driver’s license to Connecticut. You are required to pay an $84 fee for the license and an additional $40 for the application fee. After payment, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will process your driver’s license, which will be mailed to the address you provided in your application within 20 days.
Is a Written Test Required to Transfer My Out-of-State License to Connecticut?
The need for a written knowledge test when transferring your out-of-state license to Connecticut depends on the state from which you are transferring. If there is a full reciprocity agreement with Connecticut, you may not be required to take the test.
How Long Do I Have To Transfer My Out-of-State License After Moving to Connecticut?
By law, new residents are required to transfer their out-of-state driver’s license to Connecticut within 30 days of establishing residency.
What if I don’t transfer my out-of-state license within 30 days of moving to Connecticut?
Failing to transfer your out-of-state license to Connecticut within the 30-day time frame can result in penalties, including fines and the potential suspension of your driving privileges. It is advisable to initiate the transfer process as soon as you become a resident of the state.
Can a non-US citizen with an out-of-state license transfer it to Connecticut?
Non-US citizens may be able to obtain a Connecticut driver license if they have the required proof of legal presence in the US. To find out what documents are necessary, it is advisable to get in touch with the Connecticut Motor Vehicle Department.
Transferring an out-of-state license to Connecticut is quite straightforward. Simply present your previous state’s driver’s license along with the necessary identification documents at the DMV office. Additionally, pay the application processing fee using a credit or debit card. After a few days, you will receive your new Connecticut driver’s license. Be prepared to pass a vision test, and, if your out-of-state license has expired, you may also need to complete a written knowledge test. Remember to update your vehicle registration and insurance information to reflect your new residency in Connecticut.